5 Countries That Have Opened Their Borders For Travelers

Yes! After months of lockdown, some countries have decided to open their gates for travelers but certainly with some strict rules and restrictions that everyone has to follow. It’s good news for travelers who might be getting bored while sitting at home for such a long duration. Also, many of us have planned for visiting different places but unexpectedly dropped down all of them due to the pandemic. But, now many countries are opening up for travelers again. Here is the list…

1. Sri Lanka:

The Sri Lanka Tourism Promotion Bureau (SLTPB) has decided to reopen the nation for tourism from August. But, only a limited group of people in small groups are allowed for travelling. The tourists will be permitted to stay in approved hotels as chosen by the tourism board. Only those luxury hotels will be handpicked that follow the safety measures.

Sri Lanka

What Tourists Have To Follow?

  • Tourists have to carry Covid-19 free certificates as issued by their respective government or agency.
  • Tourists have to complete the coronavirus testing on arrival.
  • If the test of the tourists takes more than 24 hours at the airport, then he will be transferred to a 4-star or 5-star hotel as per government regulations for the night.

Only selected places will be open for the tourists including the Yala National Park, Arugam Bay, Trincomalee, Udawalawe, and some other beaches. Transportation arrangements have to be managed by the traveler as public transportation may not be available at this time.

2. Switzerland:

As per the latest reports, Switzerland is considered as one of the safest countries to travel when it comes to Covid-19. This is happy news for travelers as they can now safely travel to Switzerland by following some safety rules.


What Tourists Have To Follow?

  • Tourists are required to follow the rules on hygiene and social distancing.
  • Tourists would need to wear a face mask in case they are unable to maintain a distance of 2 meters from others.
  • Tourists might be asked to complete a health questionnaire or have your temperature taken. 

There will be no quarantine requirements for travelers entering Switzerland who are free from symptoms of illness.

3. The European Union:

The EU has decided to open its international borders most probably from early July. The external travelers will not face any internal border controls while traveling across the European Union. As per this, travelers can make summer holiday plans to provide a boost to the tourism industry. From 15 June, borders will be opened for tourists from Germany, France, and Austria, followed by the remaining Schengen zone countries from 6 July. Apart from this, traveling from other countries will be resumed from mid-July.

The European Union

What Tourists Have To Follow?

  • Tourists have to make use of personal protective equipment while traveling.
  • Tourists would be required to follow the guidelines at the airport.

4. Estonia:

The Northern European Country of Estonia is a beautiful country widely visited by tourists from different parts of the world. It is now opening its borders for 16 Schengen Zone countries. Estonia is ready to welcome travelers from the following countries- Austria, France, Hungary, Czech Republic, Finland, Norway, Slovenia, Lithuania, Latvia, Slovakia, Iceland, Switzerland, Greece, Liechtenstein, Germany, and Poland. The mandatory 14-day quarantine does not apply to citizens from these countries.


Apart from this, travelers from Sweden, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Ireland, Luxembourg, Spain, Denmark, the Netherlands, Italy, Portugal, and Malta will be required to go through quarantine.

What Tourists Have To Follow?

  • Tourists have to be under quarantine on arrival.
  • Travelers from the restricted countries have to go through quarantine even if they have a health certificate stating negative test results.
  • Travelers have to remain socially distant.

5. Maldives:

The Maldives is a beautiful beach destination that everyone wants to visit. It might get reopened for tourists in July along with some protection guidelines. The Maldives is planning to reopen from July 1 as stated by the Minister of Tourism of Maldives, Ali Waheed.


The country is going to open the borders for countries like India, China, South Korea, and Sri Lanka, and in the Middle East. It will not be entertaining tourists from 12 countries including Spain, Italy, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Emirates, Etihad, and Qatar Airways will begin commercial operations. A private plane or yacht would also be allowed to enter the country.

Also Read:- Maldives Out, Lakshadweep In, The Trendiest Travel Spot of 2024

What Tourists Have To Follow?

  • Travelers have to apply for a tourist visa ahead of their visit.
  • Travelers have to purchase travel insurance for their trip
  • Travelers have to submit either a negative antigen test or a positive antibody test a week before their arrival.
  • Travelers have to go through another test and would be quarantined in their rooms until the test results come.

Customize Your Dream Tour Package

Features Includes






Customize Your Dream Tour Package

Customize Your Dream Tour Package